February 17th- At Last We Meet

I was a ball of nerves that Thursday.  I had no idea how to relate to a young pregnant woman who was making the brave decision to make an adoption plan for the beautiful, sweet baby who was growing inside her.  I knew how to relate to adults, and knew how I’d approach this situation if she was older, I knew how to approach this situation in a professional manner.  I had no idea how to approach it with a young high school aged girl.  My mind was racing: “Do I friend her on Facebook?”, “Should I make sure she knows I text.”, “Do we talk about Justin Beiber?”  These were all thoughts that ran through my mind.

The week prior, one of this young woman’s friends had informed me that she really wanted coco-butter to use to help with stretch marks but hadn’t had the money to purchase it.  As I would do for any of the girls in our group, I purchased her a bottle and placed it in a gift bag with a card.  Inside the card I left a short message and included all (read ALL) of my contact information (cell, work cell, email, Facebook) as well as A’s information.  I don’t even really remember what I wrote inside the card to be honest, I mean what do you say to someone who has all the abilities to make all your dreams come true?

I arrived a few minutes late to our meeting that night.  When I walked into the room, I saw her immediately and knew who she was.  Trying to stay calm, I said my normal hello’s, touched base with V, and said a quick prayer.  Thankfully she was sitting with one of the girls who I know quite well so I went up to her and introduced myself.  I will never forget how warm and kind she was.  I let her know I was the woman who V had spoken to her about and she knew right away what I meant.  J, our mutual friend, started asking her questions about the baby.  She let us know that her due date had been moved to April 2nd (we had thought she was due in early May), and that she was having a baby girl.  I couldn’t help the huge smile that danced across my face with this news.  She also let me know that at this point it was A & I and one other potential family in which the husband was still unsure about adoption.  I gave her the gift, which she was very grateful for and we made tentative plans for lunch that weekend.  We also hung out together through the event, laughing, smiling, and just having a grand time.  At the end of the evening I met her step father, and let him know about our interest in being a part of her adoption plan.  We confirmed our lunch plans for Saturday, and we went on our way.

I came home and gave A an update on the situation.  He couldn’t get past the new due date, considering it was 6 weeks away.  I don’t think he realized it, but when I told him that this precious baby was a little girl, he got the most adorable smile and twinkle in his eye.  That’s when I knew- he was already in love with her too.

By the way- while I’m happy to share our story with you, if you haven’t noticed, I’m really not doing it for you, I’m doing it for our sweet baby E.  I want her to know (when the time is right) how we were brought together.

This entry was posted in Adoption, Amazing Husband, My Awesome Volunteer Group. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February 17th- At Last We Meet

  1. Taylor says:

    I am SO happy that you’ve started blogging! Your story is so unique and amazing, and I’m thrilled to be able to follow along. Your post from Feb 8 had me tearing up! I can’t wait to hear the rest, momma! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Remembering the Day She Became “Ours” | Life, Laughter, and Happily Ever After

Leave a Reply

