Confessions of an Adoptive Mom: Part 3

Queue Usher: These are my confessions….

Confession #8: Recently I was around several women my age (whom I didn’t know very well) all discussing their birthing experiences.  I didn’t feel like getting into the entire adoption story, so when they were discussing their hospital experiences, I chimed in with ours, I just happened to leave out the fact that I wasn’t the one in L&D…..

Confession #9: I never really know what to say when someone compliments E’s beauty (which is often, because she’s gorgeous).  I mean, I always say, “thank you” but it makes me feel awkward because it’s like I’m taking credit for it, and technically- unless their complimenting her outfit or her accessories, I had nothing to do with her beautiful blue eyes and luxurious long eye lashes.

Confession #10: E went through this awkward stage where I needed to get in the tub with her, the first time this happened, I asked “A” if I needed to wear my bathing suit.  He looked at me funny and asked why, and my response was, “I don’t know the rules on these things.”  Thankfully A just looked at me, laughed, and said, she’s our daughter I think you’re fine.

This entry was posted in Adoption, Baby E, Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Confessions of an Adoptive Mom: Part 3

  1. Tay says:

    I just LOL-ed at confession #8. Just a minor detail 😉

  2. Beth says:

    thank you for doing these!!

  3. Jenna says:

    I’m reading your blog as I’m considering adoption – and I’m so happy to read number 10 – that is something I think about (or situations like these) that make me paranoid. Glad to know I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

