Introduction to Adoption Information

I think I owe you an apology.  In my posts and in my “confessions” I’ve expressed my frustrations with terminology and questions we’ve received from people, but have realized I haven’t done my part to share with you what the Adoption Community views as Adoption Friendly Language, what the adoption process is, and what steps it took to make E’s adoption complete.

As an adoptive parent, I fight numerous stereotypes on a daily basis.  These range from something as simple as the misconception that “Babies R Us has a special area that adoptive parents pick their children from” to “adopted children will never be loved the same as a biological child”.   These are stereotypes that I feel could be easily combated with the appropriate information – so that’s my goal.  To share with you what these stereotypes are, and why they are simply not true.  I could make this a single post- but it would be infinitely long, so I will break it up into sections in hopes of keeping readers.
So, without further ado, here we go!

This entry was posted in Adoption, Breaking Stereotypes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

