God Bless Leap Years!

Today, my daughter is 365 days old, yet she is not yet 1-year-old.  Yep, this year leap year worked in this mama’s favor because I got an entire extra day to soak in my daughter’s “infancy” before officially being categorized as a toddler.  Plus the analytical side of me wonders how many kids get to say that even after 365 days of life- they still weren’t quite 1-year-old!

March 28th of 2011, was crazy for me.  It was my last day of work before my “bonding” leave (I feel weird terming it maternity leave), and it was a Monday.  It was A’s first day in his new office across town, and we had just celebrated the wedding of our dear friends Ben and Julie the night before.  We had a nice dinner with Sam* and Z that night to present her with her birth mother gifts from A & I, and we spent our last evening in our home as just Jenn & A T.  It was the last night that our guest room remained a guest room before belonging to a person.  It was the last opportunity we had for a quiet, full nights sleep.

I didn’t sleep a wink.

Before bed, I updated my Facebook status to my (mostly) unsuspecting friends to say the following:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

No truer words have ever been spoken my friends.

Tomorrow, we will celebrate our daughters 366th day of life, otherwise known as her first birthday.

This entry was posted in Adoption, Baby E, Dream Come True, God is Faithful, Holidays, Personal Reflection, Taking Care of E. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

