E’s Birthday- A Reflection of the Year Before

I was surprised.  I made it through E’s entire birthday without tearing up.  After remembering what a crazy day March 29th had been the year before (you can relive it here, here, here, and here), this surprised me.

Because E’s recent hospital stay had pretty much killed any and all of my vacation time, I went to work on her birthday, and E spent the day with her Auntie Carolyn.  After work, A, E, and I had a nice birthday dinner, and E finally enjoyed her cake (cake at her birthday party a few days before hadn’t gone so well, but we’ll get to that).

Yum- Cake!

What?

After she enjoyed her cake and her evening bath, I rocked my baby girl to sleep, just as I had done on that same March evening one year before.

After rocking with her long after she had drifted into a peaceful slumber, I couldn’t help but wonder what my reactions had been one year ago- so turned to Facebook (the Holy Grail of news) and read through my Facebook Status updates.  Reading them brought back all of the emotion I had experienced that day.

March 28th (just before I attempted to go to bed):

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

March 29th:

“72 hours started at 5:36pm”- me announcing to those who knew we were adopting that our 72 hour count down had begun (IE: E had been born).

E's Facebook Debut

After this photo, and my dad’s status update of “I’m a grandpa” surfaced, I posted the following message to let the proverbial “cat out of the bag”:

“Well, it seems to be out- We had a baby, it’s a girl!  6lb’s 15oz born at 5:36pm.  Everyone is doing great!”

 

This entry was posted in Adoption, Baby E, Dream Come True, God is Faithful, Holidays, Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

