E’s Big Girl Room Re-Do

So we I’ve decided to make over E’s room.  She’s getting ready to transition to a big girl bed (either to her Toddler Bed, or we may just skip that all together and put her in a big girl bed) and I wanted to update her room to reflect her.

It’s not that her current room doesn’t per-say, but we just had such limited time to do with, that we found a theme that matched the already painted room (our house was a model if you didn’t read that post, and was already professionally painted).  It’s not that I don’t like it, but I just don’t love it.  And I just don’t think it fits our little girl.

So I decided to take this opportunity to transform her room into something a little more her, and hopefully something that she’ll grow into.

I’m planning many DIY projects like: pink ruffle curtains (can we say feminine), a DIY lamp shade, and a custom DIY bed skirt using this fabric:

As a part of her room transformation, I’ll be moving around and swapping out some of her art work.  (Don’t worry, her Stitch painting isn’t going anywhere!)  In updating her artwork, I wanted to get a few new pieces that stood out.  In reading my friend Beth’s blog, I found a poem I just adored.  I sent that poem to the wonderful Katie of Jack & Jilly Designs, and she came up with this:

Copyright Jack & Jilly Designs 2012

I LOVE it!  I seriously could not be more thrilled with how it turned out!  I plan on matting it and framing it and making it a focal point on one of her walls.

We are just in the beginning stages of this transformation of E’s new chic and feminine room, but I can’t wait to share our progress with you as I also transform into the DIY {Crafty Mama} I’ve always dreamed of being.

BTW- have I mentioned how I plan on having time for being said {Crafty Mama} because I’m sure you’re thinking that I can barely keep up on my blog let alone completely transform a room with several hand-made projects… Stay tuned for one BIG announcement!

This entry was posted in Adoption, Baby E, Dream Come True, Nesting, {Crafty Mama}. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to E’s Big Girl Room Re-Do

  1. Heather says:

    LOVE the color scheme & can’t wait to see more! What a sweet poem. I’m sure she’ll cherish that some day. 🙂

  2. Pingback: {Crafty Mama} Ruffle Lamp Shade | Life, Laughter, and Happily Ever After

Leave a Reply

