The BIG Announcement

I am not pregnant.

Though honestly, whatev’s pregnancy because this is an even COOLER announcement in my book!

It comes to no surprise to you when I share with you how sick E has been this year (though thankfully all illnesses have been common viruses or bacteria’s that she has rebounded from, and we thank God every night for that).

In Late April/Early May, after her most recent prolonged illness in which the doctor’s diagnosed her as having “asthmatic tendencies” because they didn’t want to declare that a 1 year old had Asthma, her pediatrician looked me straight in the eye and proclaimed, “You MUST pull her out of daycare, at this point it’s detrimental to her health”.  Basically her doctor’s theory is that E has asthma.  She believes that because of this, she can never fully fight off an illness which means that just as she’s barely fighting off one, another attacks and she’s for lack of better terms screwed.  Being in daycare meant having E exposed to a barrage of illnesses on a daily basis.

So we pulled her out.

It was at that time that A & I knew exactly what we needed to do, so we put into motion a plan we had been preparing for, saving for, and positioning ourselves for since E was born since we got married.  We pooled our child care resources (Grammy, Grandma) and reconnected with E’s former daycare teacher who had left the center and set up a child care schedule with minimal adjustments to my work schedule and A’s work schedule.

I also submitted my resignation.

As of August 2nd, I will be a Stay At Home Mom!  This is something A & I have been preparing ourselves for since the day we got married.  It’s something I thought I would do when E was born, but honestly at that time I just wasn’t ready emotionally.

Now I am.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still a little worried about our plan- but that’s just me by nature.  My biggest fear is that I won’t like it.  What kind of parent would I be if I didn’t enjoy spending my days with my daughter?  However, a wonderful co-worker said something to me that put that fear into perspective, she said, “You may not love it, but you won’t regret it.  And you know you’ll regret it if you don’t do it.”

So- in a little under 6 weeks, we’ll embark on this new chapter.  Here’s to living a life of no regrets!

This entry was posted in Amazing Husband, Baby E, Day Care, Dream Come True, God is Faithful, Personal Reflection, Taking Care of E. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The BIG Announcement

  1. Wendy says:

    Congratulations on staying home – that’s wonderful! Very very happy for you 🙂

  2. Marci says:

    How exciting for you and your family!! I hope you enjoy being a Play At Home Mom as much as I do. (The word “stay” just doesn’t cut it!)

  3. Beth says:

    It will be amazing 🙂 And I will forever be jealous!

  4. Your co-worker is very wise. You’re doing this for the right reason, and even if you don’t love it at first, if you look for it, you’ll find so much that will fill your time, feed your needs as well as keep your daughter safe and happy. I was fortunate; I was an at-home Mom. I loved every moment of it. I had the opportunity to mother my children, nurture my home, volunteer and coordinate so much more than I would have, had I been in the office as well. And it was guilt free, because when I needed to focus on my children during the day, I could. You seem like such a dynamic person and your faith must tell you that your life is being guided, nudged. What wonderful things are around the corner for you and your little family, we can only imagine. Enjoy!!!!

    I have so enjoyed your blog and look forward to reading much more.

Leave a Reply

