A Follow Up To My “Big Announcement”

After announcing on my blog, Facebook (by means of my blog) and actually telling people (verbally) about my impending transition to a “Play” at home mom (thanks again Marci!) I’ve received several questions that I’d love to take the opportunity to answer.

1) How will you stay busy (IE: I know you, and I can see you being bored with this)?

Most people who know me know I am a busy, busy person and I am always doing something.  I’ve also been truly blessed to have achieved professional success at a young age, and have maintained positions with a lot of responsibility and authority.

None of them are as time-consuming as my daughter- truthfully.

E is a lively active little girl who keeps me running, guessing, and jumping from the moment she wakes until she goes back to sleep.  Trust me, this little girl does not know the definition of lazy and keeps me on my toes!  In addition to her “go, go, go” personality, I want to make sure that I am utilizing my time with her as effective as possible, so being the structured OCD person I am, I’ve devised the following weekly plan:

Mondays- Library Time for Walkers (for socialization and literary purposes)

Tuesdays- Zoo Day (and splash pad at the zoo for warmer days)

Wednesdays- Aquarium Day (at our local aquarium)

Thursdays- Science Center Day

Friday- Lunch with Daddy (and Misc. day)

Do I think every week will follow this plan, no.  Do I like knowing that we have options to get out of the house at little to no cost (thanks to mommy investing in annual passes while we’re still on a dual income), yes.  Do I think some days we’ll just stay home in our PJ’s and snuggle up to a few movies, I certainly hope so.  Do I want that to be every day, no.  (Not that there is anything wrong with that, if that’s what you chose to do).

2) Aren’t you afraid of the financial changes for your family? 

Yes and no.  Of course it’s a little scary to think about going from two incomes to one.  In the past I never had to worry about A or myself losing a job because the other could support us easily on their income.  Knowing that situation changes drastically now is a bit intimidating.

Saying that, I also trust that our God is a faithful and loving God.  He has blessed my family immensely and given us the resources to make this happen.  He has lead us down this path, and I know this is His plan for us, for me.

It also helps that my husband is a financial genius.  He is also the most financially conservative man on the planet (okay Sharon, maybe he and Ray are tied).  He would not fathom this change unless it was not only feasible, but safe for our family.  He certainly would not encourage it if it would put us in any financial harm.  He has also worked very hard to put us into a strong financial situation (read- put my bum through a financial boot camp).

I have also hoarded stocked up on a variety of items to maintain us for quite some time while we adjust to single income living.  E has a full wardrobe through and including 2T.  She also has 5 pairs of size 5 shoes, and 4 pairs of size 6 shoes.  We cloth diaper, and she is set on diapers through potty training.  I also have a small stash of disposable diapers for “just in case”.  Our household items stash is also very well stocked.

3) Don’t you feel like you’re giving up on your career?

As I mentioned above, I have been very fortunate to have obtained professional success at a young age.  I’ve held some great jobs in my life.  I’ve visited amazing places flying first class and staying in suites, experienced the exhilaration of awarding an employee the “employee of the year award” in front of hundreds of people.  I’ve experienced the horrific and humbling feeling of having to lay someone off.  I’ve presented for a CEO, and represented my organization for political figures.  I’ve had reserved parking spaces, corner offices, business cards, cell phones, corporate credit cards and expense accounts.  All of these things were awesome experiences I was blessed to have, and have helped define me.

None of them will mean squat to anyone in 5 years.  In organizations I’ve left/am leaving, I will be a name on an excel spreadsheet, a dying rumor of a person.  To my daughter, I will exist forever, long beyond my mortal time on this earth.

I guess what I’m saying is, none of them have helped define me in my 10ish years as a professional as E has in her 15 months on this planet.  Maybe it’s because I’ve had those experiences that I am so confident in knowing that this is what I want to do, because I don’t feel I’m sacrificing anything.  In fact, quite the opposite.  I feel like I’ve lived the life of a professional, and now I’m ready to experience the life of staying home with my daughter, investing in her and my community in a different way then I have been doing.

I don’t believe staying home with E will be all puppy dogs and rainbows.  I know there will be tough days.  But I also know that at the end of the day, I can look myself in the mirror knowing I am doing the best thing possible for my family.  It’s where my heart is.  It may not be the most credentialed job on a resume, or the best paying job there is monetarily, but I personally am ready to trade in my lap top for Leap Pad’s, gourmet meals for princess picnics, and paychecks for hugs and kisses.

 

 

This entry was posted in Amazing Husband, Baby E, Breaking Stereotypes, Dream Come True, God is Faithful, Personal Reflection, Taking Care of E. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Follow Up To My “Big Announcement”

  1. shell says:

    ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Brenda says:

    I ❤ this post so much!! I admire you for following your dream and taking the leap.

  3. Wendy says:

    I’m guessing that you will really love being home with your daughter. I am a teacher and have been able to stay home for a little while with our daughter. It’s been wonderful, and I would not trade it for anything. The time really does go by so quickly. I was home with her during her first year, and then I returned to work when she was about to turn two. I was able to stay home again this year, and I’m so happy that it worked out that way.

    You won’t have any trouble with filling your days with things to do…we spend time in our backyard (sandbox, watertable, pool, playhouse), at the park, at the splash zone, at the pool, at the library, at the mall, at the indoor playgrounds in the area, at Grandma and Grandpa’s, at the Hands On Museum…there’s always a lot to do. Plus I love being home with her and working on art projects or watching movies.

    Good luck with everything and enjoy every moment 🙂

  4. Jaye says:

    You.are.amazing.
    I know this is going to be a wonderful experience for you and your family. And I’m so happy you get to follow your heart with this dream!

  5. Beth says:

    Very well said and I know that this will be so amazing for you and for E!

  6. Hillary says:

    I am so happy for you and E! She is going to LOVE having more Mama and Me time 🙂
    We found a local Mommy and Baby/Toddler group in our area on MeetUp.com. Our “littles” have so much fun playing together.

Leave a Reply

