Happy Birthday To Me!

This week I celebrated my birthday.  It’s ironic, how the celebrations of your birthday’s evolve.  They start with at-home parties, then move likely to parties away from home (because unless your like the Obama’s, not many kids have a house they think is fun enough to host their birthday party at).  Then they evolve into birthday dinners and bars and clubs.

Then you have kids.  And they change.

This year, my birthday was on a weeknight (which every 5 out of 7 years it is likely to be).  My parents, who live two hours north, offered to come down for dinner, but that meant we’d be eating later, like 5:30 (clearly I am old to be referring to dinner at 5:30 as late).  But leaving to start dinner at a restaurant at 5:30pm with a 16 month old, it is late.

Knowing that I opted to have dinner at home.  A offered to cook anything I wanted, but nothing really sounded great.  I asked him to pick something up, to which he of course said yes.  When he asked me what I wanted, I responded with what sounded best.  It made me realize just how cyclical our “birthday outings” truly are.  What mystery food did I ask for?

Yep.  Peter Piper Pizza.  Some describe it as card board.  I describe it as yummy!

But before you chastise me about my birthday dinner choice, hear me out.

The very first birthday party I can really remember having was my 5th birthday party.  It was a cloudy, rainy day, much like my birthday’s are falling in the heart of monsoon season.  I remember wearing jeans and a pink long sleeve shirt, and jumping over puddles in the parking lot.  It was one of (if not the) first birthday parties I had held outside my house.  It included some very special guests:

Thinking these guys look familiar, but can’t nail it down?  How about this one:

That’s right, it was at ShowBiz Pizza, a pizza joint that no longer exists.  That my friends is the very first birthday party I can remember (without the help of photo’s).  It was a good birthday party, but I mean what 5-year-old doesn’t remember their 5th birthday fondly, it’s long before having to deal with friends who no-show and wondering why, or fretting over having a co-ed party, or worse, what to wear because your crush is showing up.  It’s nothing but pure and utter birthday bliss.

And I guess that’s what I wanted to capture this year.  I wanted to capture that innocence again, and just enjoy my birthday with my parents, my sister, my husband, and E.  I wanted it to be simple.  I wanted familiar.  I wanted to reminded of how awesome birthday’s used to be, before I became an adult and they became complicated.

I also love Peter Piper Pizza.  It’s comfort food.

So, that was my birthday.  Peter Piper Pizza at my dining room table.

And it was awesome.

This entry was posted in Amazing Husband, Baby E, Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday To Me!

  1. Beth says:

    I’m glad you had a nice birthday!!!

  2. Happy Belated Birthday, Jenn! The beauty of birthdays as an adult; you can do whatever YOU want (but don’t tell Jaye I said that!).

  3. tresadames says:

    Have you seen the documentary on Showbiz Pizza? It’s awesome if you can find it. It used to be on Netflix, it’s called: “The Rock-afire Explosion.” I love reading your blog. Can’t wait for a new update 🙂

Leave a Reply

