Why I’ll Never Visit Walt Disneyworld Again: Will We Even Get To Go?

The week prior to our trip I experienced some unexplained ( and still unexplained as we are waiting on biopsy results) stomach pain that was debilitating, seriously.  It started exactly two weeks prior to our departure.  I had an episode similar to this in September and thought it was related to taking a large amount of Ibuprofen (I have osteoarthritis in both of my knees so I often take a large amount of NSAID’s to function.  Additionally I have ovaries that love to produce cysts over eggs and ovarian cysts are not pleasant).  When the pain started again I started my ritual of over the counter stomach medicines and stopped the NSAID’s, acidic foods, etc.  Usually this leads to it feeling better, but it only got worse to the point where drinking water caused so much pain I was starting to become dehydrated.

The week before our trip was the worst.  I ended up having an ultrasound (to rule out the gallbladder) and it was decided it must be my actual stomach (the organ not the region).  I was scheduled for an Upper Endoscopy Thursday, October 10th (mind you we were scheduled to leave on Saturday, October 12th), however on Tuesday the 8th the pain was just too horrible and I was experiencing other symptoms that landed me in the Emergency Room.  A CT Scan revealed that I needed to be scoped, and since I was already scheduled to be scoped Thursday morning they sent me home with Protonix (a miracle drug) and some pain meds.

Thankfully the Protonix started to work immediately and I was starting to tolerate water and Cheerio’s.  (When you haven’t eaten in days water and Cheerios feels like the feast of kings).  The Endoscopy was easy and did not show any perforations of my lap band (what they had expected to see) or any lesions.

Image

Yep, that’s my stomach. the first picture on the bottom is what my stomach opening actually looks like thanks to my Lap Band.

They took a few samples for a biopsy, upped my dosage of Protonix, and gave me the okay to take my trip.  Thankfully, with the help of the medicine I was even feeling up to going on our trip.

Given the medical events of the week I had suffered some major setbacks in preparing for our trip so Friday was intense.  Last minute errands, packing, laundry, packing some more, and this brilliant mama scheduled her hair appointment for Friday evening, about 14 hours before we had to leave for the airport.  Yep, I’m brilliant, but at least I had great hair!  (In all fairness when I scheduled the appointment, I figured I’d have had so much time to prepare for the trip that it would be a great way to kick off our vacation, a nice pre-relaxation moment so to speak.  Hindsight is 20/20.)

A & I got to bed around 1:30 a.m. Saturday morning and had an alarm set for 4:30 a.m.  Our transportation was scheduled to come at 6:30 a.m. and we knew my parents would be there prior to that.

At 4:45 on Saturday morning A& I rolled out of bed.  With a death grip on my bottle of Protonix and 3 hours of sleep, I knew it was time to get our trip started!

This entry was posted in Hospitals, Personal Reflection, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

