She Is Love.

Today, I witnessed the ugliness of humanity.  I witnessed how capitalism has intruded even the most sacred of venues like a persons right to live, literally.  I could go on and on, but the cruelty and greed are not what motivated me to write today.  She is.

I also witnessed quite possibly the proudest moment I have had as a mother, and possibly as an individual.  I watched my almost three year old girl exhibit compassion to someone in need and that person was me.

While in the crux of dealing with greed in it’s most evil and concentrated form, I had a very emotional moment where I lost my composure and began to cry and sob uncontrollably.  My daughter, who was home with me at the time, stopped what she was doing (playing dinosaurs) to come over and console me with a delicate voice asking what was wrong.

But it didn’t end there.

She then proceeded to stand next to me, holding my leg, giving me gentle kisses, and whispering to me that it was okay.  When I fell to the floor in exhausted frustration, tears streaming down my face, she lifted my chin, wiped them away, and gently said, “See, all better mama.”

When I had to battle with greed again, she sat next to me on the couch, holding my hand with a wisdom well beyond her years while I attempted to resolve my situation.  When the words on the other side of the phone brought me to tears again, she attempted to take the phone and boldly state, “No more crying” in an attempt to combat evil with her pure and tender heart.

It would be easy to allow myself to wallow in the vile words I received today, knowing it will be a part of my life for the unforeseeable future.  But instead of being poisoned by hate, I’m in reverence to my daughter.  I am amazed that my sweet little girl understands compassion and even grace already, that her loving nature has lead her to show mercy to those hurting or in need.

Today, I choose to honor her and her gift.  I choose to pick love over greed and I am humbled to know my (almost) three year old daughter has shown me how.

This entry was posted in Baby E, Dream Come True, God is Faithful, Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She Is Love.

  1. Beth says:

    She has such a beautiful soul!!

Leave a Reply

