I Left My Heart in Aulani- Day 2 Part 2

Nap time didn’t exactly go as planned (of course).  E fell asleep in the car and woke up once we got back to Aulani.  She was a bit grumpy as she was only asleep about 40 minutes and of course jet-lag was kicking all of us in the rear-end.  She perked up as soon as I asked her if she wanted to go down to the pool though!

IMG_7676

Once we got down to the pool area, I had one thing on my mind: Lazy River!  Alas, E refused to join me.  In fact she refused to do anything that was not a “normal” pool or splash pad that she was accustomed to.  So, while I circled the lazy river, she and A. hit up the toddler splash area (which literally looks like any mall splash pad).

IMG_7678

I won’t lie, the lazy river was heavenly with some AMAZING views along the way.

IMG_7677

But alas, I was lonely.  I found E and got her to go into the main pool with me which we both enjoyed.  A. however, sat out on the side (party pooper!)

Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 4.53.00 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 4.53.31 PM

Still, he has his redeeming qualities.  After E and I spent about an hour in the main pool having fun, A. enticed us to come out with the most amazing looking (and tasting) Hawaiian shaved ice ever.  It had condensed milk poured over the top and ice cream in the bottom of the cup.

IMG_7686Yeah, you see how she’s gripping the shaved ice?  She pretty much downed the whole thing by herself, that’s how good it was!  After we finished up with our yummy treat (or E finished her yummy treat) we walked down to the beach to play in the sand and ocean.

Now, let me stop for a minute and say that I had heard about people who start chair stalking right at 7:00 a.m.  (Aulani has a strict “reserved chair” policy especially during high occupancy times.  If you’re not in your chair when they do their “check” they fold a towel over the back of the chair. You then have one hour to move the towel or your personal belongings are removed from the chair and held at a separate location for you to pick up.  You also have to have personal items on the chair, not just a towel.)  We never chair stalked and never had a problem getting a chair in the area we wanted.  Granted we used our chair as a “holder” and usually only needed one chair, but it was never an issue for us.

E loves the sand, she’s not as big of a fan of the ocean.  Scratch that, she’s not nearly as big a fan of moving bodies of water (IE: waves), so she primarily just played in the sand close to the shore line.

IMG_7696

I did con her into coming into the very shallow part of the beach with me for a short period of time.  She liked it for a few minutes, but then returned to the sand.  Once we were done, we stopped for a few photo’s with the photo-pass photographer.

Screen Shot 2015-06-26 at 4.54.23 PM

Once the sun started to set we retreated back to our room for dinner and a movie we rented (Into the Woods- I’m glad I never paid to see it!) and lights out.  I went down to the lobby around 6:30 to pick up the daily schedule for the following day so I could put a plan in place for programs to enroll E in at Aunty’s Beach House.  Once I returned we snuggled in for the night and crashed out of pure exhaustion.

This entry was posted in Aulani, Hawaii, No Body Shame, Travel, Traveling with Preschoolers, Vacation, Vacation on a Budget and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

