I Left My Heart in Aulani- Day 7

So, I clearly did not meet my personal (soft) deadline of finishing up my blog series on our Aulani trip by the end of July, but I do intend to wrap it up this week.

When we woke up on Wednesday, I won’t lie, I may have shed a few tears knowing it was our last full day at Aulani.  This was the first time our family had ever taken a “resort” style vacation (AKA: a non-Disney theme park vacation) and while I was apprehensive we’d enjoy it…resort living fits us well.

But you know what cures “last day of vacation blues”?  Mickey Waffles.  We ordered in-room dining for breakfast so we could have a loved vacation staple of Mickey Waffles.  I have to say, the cost on in-room dining was very reasonable.

After enjoying our Mickey Waffles, we headed down to the pool area.  E had been resistant of the Lazy River and the Menehune Bridge all week, so we made a deal with her that she’d try each at least once, and if she didn’t like it, she wouldn’t have to do it again.

We started with the lazy river.  At first, she was very upset and wanted to get off, but we told her she had to do at least one full circle.  Obviously, by the end she was clearly miserable…

IMG_8147 IMG_8130

I think we ended up going around the lazy river at least 6 times and even then, we only got her out by telling her it was time to try the Menehune bridge.

IMG_8321

The Menehune Bridge from our room (before it opened)

A. and E headed over to the Menehune Bridge while I soaked up some vitamin D in our chairs (which again, we had no issues grabbing in a very prime location!)  It was getting to be lunch time, so I ordered a few munchies from poolside dining and a tropical (non-alcoholic, boo) drink.  (I was still on some meds for my head issues, so alcohol was out this entire trip).  Again, I was impressed by how reasonable poolside dining prices were.  However, I wish we’d have had the May poolside dining menu, ours was pretty much a bunch of seafood (which I’m allergic to) and fried food.  Still, I ordered the onion rings for me (which were delicious) and the kids Mac-N-Cheese for E (which I swear tasted like pineapple).  She approved and enjoyed dining poolside!

IMG_8163

After enjoying our treats, E was desperate to show me the Menehune Bridge, so I went over there with her and A. to check it out.  I was very impressed with the area.  There’s many options for kids and at each of the slides, Disney Cast Members were present to make sure there was no pushing and that kids were taking turns safely.  E loved the slides.

IMG_8166 IMG_8168

Needless to say, A. and I were regretting not “making a deal” with her earlier in the week.  After sliding for a long while, she decided she wanted to hop back over to the lazy river.  This time, I let A. enjoy the inner tube and I walked along with E (she enjoyed floating through in her Puddle Jumper).

IMG_8187

We got out because we saw a familiar face that she wanted to say goodbye to!

IMG_8239

Since we had gotten out to see Goofy, E decided she wanted to see what other characters were behind the river at the meet and greet island.  She was in luck, she got to see one of her favorite friends again before we left!

55978160137 55978160139 55978160140

And, we even got one more special treat.  We rarely (if ever) see Mickey and Minnie Mouse together in the parks.  (I think the last time we did was at Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party in Disneyworld in Fall ’13) but as luck would have it, they were out together on Wednesday!

55978160158

After getting to see her friends, she was eager to head back over to the Menehune bridge to go down the water slides another 323890238 times.

IMG_8242 IMG_8247 IMG_8261

Pure joy, I’m telling you!  When Disney built Aulani, they truly built it with the entire family in mind!  We were so impressed with the entire resort and all the wonderful theming.  Disney Imagineers have never let us down!

IMG_8269

After being out by the pools for a solid 6 hours, we decided we should probably head back up to the room to get out of the sun.  Thankfully, E didn’t get sunburnt at all, nor did A., but I did (the only time I got sunburnt in Hawaii).

We went back up to the room so I could start packing up some of our things and we could feed E.  I also got my first (and only) Mickey ice cream bar of the trip.

IMG_8276

However, after dinner, she begged to go back out to the pools again.  Because it was a bit chilly once the sun went down, we headed for the hot tubs and stayed out until almost closing time (10:00 p.m.)

IMG_8295 IMG_8318

At ten o’clock the lifeguards made their rounds to clear us out of the pool.  We made the sad walk up to our room, showered, and got ready for bed.  We knew that at this time the next day we’d be back at home….or so we thought.

This entry was posted in Aulani, Hawaii, Travel, Traveling with Preschoolers, Vacation, Vacation on a Budget and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

